Logical Theology

…considered thoughts and opinions

Introduction to this blog…

This is my brand new blog I’m calling Logical Theology.  I love to study theology, philosophy, history and science and I hope to have the opportunity to share my love of these matters and to discuss them with other readers.

I will be beginning with a very lengthy topic which I especially enjoy – logic and critical thinking. I have come to understand that this is vitally important, especially in the fields of theology and philosophy.   I have also noticed in recent years that many people are not equipped to use logic and critical thinking in their everyday lives.  Even worse, many well-meaning Christians do not know how to engage in meaningful dialogue with others and have great difficulty in . presenting well-constructed  and compelling arguments for their positions.

Though there are multiple places and topics where I could begin, I have decided to concentrate specifically on identifying and eliminating logical fallacies and faulty logic from our conversations and arguments.

I will be offering a description of common fallacies and giving  examples from everyday life.  This will hopefully allow us to better spot these errors in logic and remove them from our conversations.

I believe that a good way to learn about these fallacies and how to avoid them is to practice identifying them in our own conversations and day-to-day lives. In light of that, since I am a Christian, I will also be highlighting specific examples of how these fallacies can often appear within Christianity, Christian discourse, and Christian belief.

Avoiding common fallacies is so very important because it demonstrates that you are taking “your opponent’s” argument seriously.  Taking another’s point of view seriously (especially when they are disagreeing with you) is respectful and above all, is showing them love.

Since there are so many fallacies and logical mistakes, going through them all will take us some time; however, it will be time well spent.  Once we have covered the basics, we can move on and discuss the various skills which we can use to engage in meaningful dialogue with other people.  Our goal is to be able to competently present our viewpoints to others, so that people are more likely to receive what we are saying to them.

As we move forward, I absolutely welcome your comments and feedback.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

